Skip to main content

School Board Recognition Month

Posted Date: 01/25/2024

School Board Recognition Month

Greetings Stanton County! Public education is the backbone of American society, and local school boards are deeply rooted in U.S. tradition. In fact, in 1966 the people of Kansas amended our state’s constitution to specifically call for local public schools that are ‘maintained, developed and operated by locally elected boards.’  January 2024 marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month. This is a time to shine a light on how local boards prepare today’s students to be tomorrow’s leaders. Please join with others throughout our district, county and state to thank our school board members who provide leadership for Stanton County Schools.

The six individuals on our board of education are responsible for setting the vision for our local education program and partners with staff and other members of the community to provide the facilities and infrastructure to achieve that vision. 

School board members in USD 452 Stanton County develop policies and make important decisions that help shape the future of our education system. They spend hundreds of hours attending meetings, reading reports and discussing plans and programs to support educational achievement. This community entrusts them with the responsibility of an annual budget of approximately $7,000,000, 420 students, 100 employees and several buildings and properties.

Our board of education includes Board President Amber Wilkerson, Board Vice-President Letticia McKinney, Rhett Seyb, Chantry Scott, Bobbie Ehrlich and Velia Zemudio. During the meeting we said goodbye to Tyce McMillan who has served on the board for over eight years. Tyce thanked the board for their efforts and is happy in knowing the board is in good hands and the school district is heading in the right direction. Tyce resigned his position effective at the end of the meeting. We wish Tyce well in his future endeavors and I thank him for his efforts as a board member. He will be greatly missed!